Office of the Consumer Advocate

PO Box 23135 Terrace on the Square St. John's, NL Canada A1B 4J9 Tel: 709-724-3800 Fax: 709-754-3800

July 12, 2023

Board of Commissions of Public Utilities 120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 2140 St. John's, NL A1A 5B2

Attention: G. Cheryl Blundon, Director of
Corporate Services / Board Secretary

Dear Ms. Blundon:

Re: NL Hydro - Application for the Construction and Installation of Ultra-Fast Electric Vehicle Charging Stations

On June 27, 2023 Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro ("Hydro") submitted to the Public Utilities Board (the "Board") an Application for the Construction and Installation of Ultra-Fast Electric Vehicle Charging Stations (the "Application"). The cover letter to the Application states "Hydro proposes to construct seven ultra-fast charging stations at the five most utilized locations along the TCH ("Project"). Each charger will be capable of supplying 175 kW, with two sites operating in a paired configuration capable of supplying up to 350 kW to a single vehicle." Hydro goes on to say "This Project is in partnership with the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador ("Government") who will fund the majority of the capital cost of the \$2.1 million Project; Hydro will contribute the remaining funds necessary beyond what is funded by Government (\$0.1 million). The capital funds Hydro expends on the Project are not proposed for inclusion in its regulated rate base for recovery from customers at this time."

The Consumer Advocate supports efforts by the Government to protect the environment. We acknowledge that electric vehicles are a growing and fast-changing industry. Provided funds for this project are not included in rate base for recovery from customers, the Consumer Advocate takes no exception to the proposed Application.

Please contact the undersigned if you have any questions on this submission.

Yours truly,

Dennis Browne, KC Consumer Advocate

Newfoundland & Labrador Hydro
Shirley Walsh (ShirleyWalsh@nlh.nl.ca)
NLH Regulatory (nlhregulatory@nlh.nl.ca)

Newfoundland Power Inc.
Dominic J. Foley (dfoley@newfoundlandpower.com) NP Regulatory (regulatory@newfoundlandpower.com)

Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities

Jacqui Glynn (jglynn@pub.nl.ca) Colleen Sutton (csutton@pub.nl.ca) PUB Official Email (ito@pub.nl.ca) Island Industrial Customers Group

Paul Coxworthy (pcoxworthy@stewartmckelvey.com)
Dean Porter (dporter@poolealthouse.ca) Denis Fleming (dfleming@coxandpalmer.com)

<u>Labrador Interconnected Group</u> Senwung Luk (sluk@oktlaw.com)

Nick Kennedy (nkennedy@oktlaw.com)